Music case study – Peter Wilson, Block 4

How old were you when you joined Bedales Schools (did you start at Dunannie/ Dunhurst/ Bedales)?
I was 13 when I joined Bedales, I started at Dunhurst In Block One.

What was your previous school?
Before Dunhurst I was at North Ealing Primary school.

What are your preferred instrument(s)?
My main instrument is guitar. I occasionally try other instruments just for the experience but I always return to guitar.

What do you consider to be your best musical achievements to date?
Probably performing at the Bedales Rock Show. Watch video.

How has Bedales helped the development of your music?
Bedales provides so many opportunities to progress and I feel the school really understands what a musician wants.

Who or what is your greatest musical inspiration?
The older years are a great inspiration on my music. Bedales has opened up so many different musical eras and styles to me, which has broadened my music taste.

What do you hope to achieve in your music over the next few years at Bedales and beyond?
Like any really good session musician, I am keen to take my playing up to the next level.

What do you like best about Music at Bedales?
I like music at Bedales because you can play [mostly] when you like and what you like.

Peter Wilson

*************************************************************************************************

Bedales School is one of the UK’s top independent private co-education boarding schools. Bedales comprises three schools situated in Steep, near Petersfield, Hampshire: Dunannie (ages 3–8), Dunhurst (ages 8–13) and Bedales itself (ages 13–18). Established in 1893 Bedales School puts emphasis on the Arts, Sciences, voluntary service, pastoral care, and listening to students’ views. Bedales is acclaimed for its drama, theatre, art and music. The Headmaster is Keith Budge.

Leave a Reply

